Hi there,
I have a few rule questions for Dalek Dice (there doesn't seem to be a dedicated forum for other Doctor Who games):
1) End of game: Rules say that game finishes at the end of the round when a player hits 60 during the round. Everywhere in the rulebook which discusses a "round" uses the term to refer just a single player's turn as far as I could see. However, the end of game section goes onto say that the highest score wins which doesn't make much sense with that interpretation. Is this an incorrect use of the term "round" here? (or incorrect definition of round elsewhere)
2) End of round scoring for "You choose to stop": When you choose to stop, do you only count Human and Dalek "Keeper" dice, or do you count all Human and Dalek dice faces at the time you choose to stop? The rules don't specify. I'm guessing the former but the latter would seem to be more interesting wrt decision making.
3) The examples have Peter shouting "EXTERMINATE" when he rolls only 1 Exterminate result but the rules only say to shout this when you get 3 of them? What's the intention here?
Many thanks,
Robert.
Dalek Dice Rule Questions
- Jon Hodgson
- Posts: 1352
- Joined: Wed Apr 24, 2013 11:53 am
- Location: Scotland
Re: Dalek Dice Rule Questions
Hi Robert, answers from the designers below!
You do not count all Human and Dalek dice faces, ONLY keepers.
(You roll the dice, you keep one or more dice as keepers as usual, then if there are still dice left you choose to stop and do not consider those dice that were left - and do not get the 5 points bonus for using all the dice).
Hope that helps!
If a player’s score reaches 60 or more in the course of a round, the game ends as soon as all players have played the same number of rounds. Then, scores are compared and the player with the highest total wins.1) End of game: Rules say that game finishes at the end of the round when a player hits 60 during the round. Everywhere in the rulebook which discusses a "round" uses the term to refer just a single player's turn as far as I could see. However, the end of game section goes onto say that the highest score wins which doesn't make much sense with that interpretation. Is this an incorrect use of the term "round" here? (or incorrect definition of round elsewhere)
2) End of round scoring for "You choose to stop": When you choose to stop, do you only count Human and Dalek "Keeper" dice, or do you count all Human and Dalek dice faces at the time you choose to stop? The rules don't specify. I'm guessing the former but the latter would seem to be more interesting wrt decision making.
You do not count all Human and Dalek dice faces, ONLY keepers.
(You roll the dice, you keep one or more dice as keepers as usual, then if there are still dice left you choose to stop and do not consider those dice that were left - and do not get the 5 points bonus for using all the dice).
That’s a mistake in the example. You shout Exterminate only when you get three of them.3) The examples have Peter shouting "EXTERMINATE" when he rolls only 1 Exterminate result but the rules only say to shout this when you get 3 of them? What's the intention here?
Hope that helps!
Re: Dalek Dice Rule Questions
Many thanks for those answers - they all make sense.
My son and I love this game.
My son and I love this game.
- Jon Hodgson
- Posts: 1352
- Joined: Wed Apr 24, 2013 11:53 am
- Location: Scotland
Re: Dalek Dice Rule Questions
No problem at all, I'll pass that along to the designers!
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest