Page 3 of 3

Re: Victoriana 3rd Edition Official Clarifications and Errat

Posted: Fri Aug 28, 2015 7:57 am
by Greenguru
keveliz2003 wrote:Hi Question
On the example filled out Character sheet
on page 152
The character is showing as having 6 health and health dice of 8
health = 2 plus Fortitude 1 +2 should be 5 ? then plus the armour would show 8 dice
Is the Heath number on the sheet a typo and it should be 5 ? if so do you then record Armour into the health dice regardless of hit location ?
Brilliant Game however have been RPG for 35 years and i like the system
Cheers
Kev
Health = [Fortitude +2] (see page 92)
The example on page 152 shows Fortitude 1 - so the character has 3 health dice = 6 Pips
Your armor doesn't count for health, but will reduce taken damage by it's armor value

Re: Victoriana 3rd Edition Official Clarifications and Errat

Posted: Sun Jul 31, 2016 8:12 pm
by Athansor
Hi!

The book mentions refreshing fate pools every session and remaining fate is lost. What exactly does that mean? Say one character starts with 4 fate and another 7 because they are human. They both gain 3 fate from complications during a session bringing them to 7 and 10. At the end of the session if they "refresh" their fate they lose anything unspent, and go back to 4 and 7? That is the way I would have read it except that you need to amass 6 scripting dice over multiple adventures to change where you are on the cog and you would not be able to do it that way. Any help is appreciated!

Thanks!

Re: Victoriana 3rd Edition Official Clarifications and Errat

Posted: Mon Aug 22, 2016 9:38 am
by Ondali
Assassin’s Lore* (4 points)
Your knowledge of anatomy, blades, and the potential
relationships between the two, is unrivalled. You are able
to strike with surgical precision. Each point spent in this
Talent adds +1 damage dice to melee attacks with an edged
weapon. This Talent cannot be taken more times than you
have skill points in Swordplay.

I read this as every build point spent this way generates +1 damage die, but that would make this talent generate +4 damage.
So i assume it should read
Each 4 points spent in this Talent adds +1 damage dice to melee attacks with an edged weapon.

Ondali

Re: Victoriana 3rd Edition Official Clarifications and Errat

Posted: Wed Feb 14, 2018 2:53 am
by Spikeball
Athansor wrote:
Sun Jul 31, 2016 8:12 pm
Hi!

The book mentions refreshing fate pools every session and remaining fate is lost. What exactly does that mean? Say one character starts with 4 fate and another 7 because they are human. They both gain 3 fate from complications during a session bringing them to 7 and 10. At the end of the session if they "refresh" their fate they lose anything unspent, and go back to 4 and 7? That is the way I would have read it except that you need to amass 6 scripting dice over multiple adventures to change where you are on the cog and you would not be able to do it that way. Any help is appreciated!

Thanks!
I too would like to know how you are supposed to spend 6 scripting dice when you can only ever posses one.

It feels like the 6 scripting dice was put there so people who weren't spending their fate points had a way to use 36 accumulated points to upgrade their fate points to make using them more appealing; but then the "you loose your unspent points at the end of a session" was added encourage the use of the fate points from the very first session, but by doing so broke the cog purchasing mechanic.

Is the 6 scripting dice purchase a vestigial mechanic or are we missing something like being able to spend the scripting dice one at a time over 6 different sessions?(nothing else is purchased this way that I know of, but I am new to the system)

Re: Victoriana 3rd Edition Official Clarifications and Errat

Posted: Thu Apr 12, 2018 12:17 pm
by Saryk
Spikeball wrote:
Wed Feb 14, 2018 2:53 am
Athansor wrote:
Sun Jul 31, 2016 8:12 pm
Hi!

The book mentions refreshing fate pools every session and remaining fate is lost. What exactly does that mean? Say one character starts with 4 fate and another 7 because they are human. They both gain 3 fate from complications during a session bringing them to 7 and 10. At the end of the session if they "refresh" their fate they lose anything unspent, and go back to 4 and 7? That is the way I would have read it except that you need to amass 6 scripting dice over multiple adventures to change where you are on the cog and you would not be able to do it that way. Any help is appreciated!

Thanks!
I too would like to know how you are supposed to spend 6 scripting dice when you can only ever posses one.

It feels like the 6 scripting dice was put there so people who weren't spending their fate points had a way to use 36 accumulated points to upgrade their fate points to make using them more appealing; but then the "you loose your unspent points at the end of a session" was added encourage the use of the fate points from the very first session, but by doing so broke the cog purchasing mechanic.

Is the 6 scripting dice purchase a vestigial mechanic or are we missing something like being able to spend the scripting dice one at a time over 6 different sessions?(nothing else is purchased this way that I know of, but I am new to the system)
Page 187, "Fate adventure rewards". Say your fate pool is 7 during the sessions of the first scenario : it resets to 7, whether you used 4 fate points or gained 3 from complications. At the end of the scenario, the players gain between 1 and 3 fate points that actually increase their pool., so they would get between 8 and 10 fate points for the next adventure.
Note that spending 6 scripting dice (36 fate points) to change cogs on the celestial engine expends those and decreases the player's pool by 36.

Re: Victoriana 3rd Edition Official Clarifications and Errata

Posted: Thu Apr 12, 2018 12:36 pm
by Saryk
I would like a clarification about sigils :

Page 194 in the experience table, it says "New Sigil -> 6 points", and in the paragraph "Learning New Sigils" on page 196 it says "Learning a new sigil that can add 1 die or 1 black die to rolls costs 2 XP. Raising the dice modifier of a sigil by 1 point also costs 2 XP."...

So, which one is it ?