Advancement points when Hope is used

Adventure in the world of J.R.R. Tolkien’s The Lord of the Rings. Learn more at our website: http://www.cubicle7.co.uk/our-games/the-one-ring/
Post Reply
User avatar
Falenthal
Posts: 2193
Joined: Sun Feb 02, 2014 8:46 am
Location: Girona (Spain)
Contact:

Advancement points when Hope is used

Post by Falenthal » Mon Feb 12, 2018 4:19 pm

I had the idea that no APs are gained if a skill check is succeeded thanks to the expenditure of Hope. But upon checking the rules, I can't find such mention.
Page 212 explains how APs are gained.

Maybe a very literal reading could point out that text says 'When a hero succeeds in a roll using a Common skill,...'. So, you have to succeed in your roll.

How do you handle it? Succeed via Hope expenditure qualifies for APs?

Glorelendil
Posts: 5064
Joined: Mon Jan 13, 2014 5:20 pm

Re: Advancement points when Hope is used

Post by Glorelendil » Mon Feb 12, 2018 4:22 pm

Falenthal wrote:
Mon Feb 12, 2018 4:19 pm
I had the idea that no APs are gained if a skill check is succeeded thanks to the expenditure of Hope. But upon checking the rules, I can't find such mention.
Page 212 explains how APs are gained.

Maybe a very literal reading could point out that text says 'When a hero succeeds in a roll using a Common skill,...'. So, you have to succeed in your roll.

How do you handle it? Succeed via Hope expenditure qualifies for APs?
Yes. Use of Hope has no bearing.
The Munchkin Formerly Known as Elfcrusher
Journey Computer | Combat Simulator | Bestiary | Weapon Calculator

Stormcrow
Posts: 1342
Joined: Sat May 18, 2013 2:56 pm
Location: Ronkonkoma, NY
Contact:

Re: Advancement points when Hope is used

Post by Stormcrow » Mon Feb 12, 2018 4:34 pm

Maybe you're thinking of the fact that when you invoke a trait for an automatic action, you can't also invoke that trait for an advancement point.

Elmoth
Posts: 371
Joined: Thu Dec 05, 2013 3:46 pm

Re: Advancement points when Hope is used

Post by Elmoth » Mon Feb 12, 2018 4:56 pm

As long as you roll (read: you do not use a Trait alone for an autosuccess) you get an Advancement Point. Spending Hope or not to suceed at the roll is irrelevant here.

User avatar
Falenthal
Posts: 2193
Joined: Sun Feb 02, 2014 8:46 am
Location: Girona (Spain)
Contact:

Re: Advancement points when Hope is used

Post by Falenthal » Mon Feb 12, 2018 5:31 pm

Thanks everyone!
One of those 'self-imagined' rules that I would have sworn to have read somewhere!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests