Can you play without the Journey rules? (or can't figure out the rules ...help!!)

The place for discussion of Cubicle 7 and Sophisticated Games' "Adventures in Middle-earth" OGL setting.
Blustar

Can you play without the Journey rules? (or can't figure out the rules ...help!!)

Post by Blustar » Tue Aug 01, 2017 1:29 pm

I'm trying to determine how to adjudicate the Journey rules consistently and it's just not making any sense to me. Also, I have a lot of experience DMing D&D for many years. A few questions:

1. Can you play without the journey rules, and just roll for unexpected events when the time is appropriate ( without sacrificing too much)?

2. My biggest issue with the rules is the destination of journeys. Is it where you are ultimately going, like a sanctuary? A set piece encounter along the way? I've tried using the adventures from Wilderland Adventures and they don't seem very consistent. ( and Eaves of Mirkwood)
a. In Don't Leave the Path: The destination seems to be to the Forest Gate, but it looks like the merchant is actually going to Woodmen hall. There are 3 set encounters and you are told to roll for Journey events as well. None of these interruptions seem to end the journey. The Journey ends at the gate, but they haven't reached their destination yet???
b. In Of Leaves and Stewed Hobbit: On the Journey to the High Pass, the Journey is broken down into two legs? Why? It tells you not to roll for arrival after the first leg? So, why not just make it one journey? Also, there's no mention of the return journey to the Inn. Is this just hand waved?
c.In Eaves of Mirkwood: They are journeying form Woodmen Town to the Forest gate. This time it's only one journey although it is longer than the previous adventure, also the journey never gets to where they initially stated. Actually, the initial intention was to journey all the way to Dale ( or Laketown)! So how many journeys is this?