Embarkation Roll

The place for discussion of Cubicle 7 and Sophisticated Games' "Adventures in Middle-earth" OGL setting.
Post Reply
Don Zauker
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2017 2:37 pm

Embarkation Roll

Post by Don Zauker » Thu Dec 07, 2017 2:52 pm

Hello all,
I've recently mastered the introductive EOM adventure for my D&D group.

I've a silly, silly question that I can't figure out myself (whell, two silly, silly question, that is...): if I've read correctly the rule, the embarkation roll use the guide's survival proficiency bonus plus half the wisdom bonus.

So, if the Guide has a Wis 17 (+3 bonus) and has the Survival Proficience (+2) the right calculation for the embarkation roll should be: 2 + half(3) - peril rating + 1d12.

Is this correct? Also, do you round the wisdom bonus up or down?

Lastly, sorry for any mistake or typo, I'm writing from Italy and english is a foreign language for me :)

TIA to ant kind soul who wish to enlight my path

User avatar
Wanton
Posts: 81
Joined: Thu Sep 28, 2017 8:06 pm

Re: Embarkation Roll

Post by Wanton » Thu Dec 07, 2017 5:16 pm

Don Zauker wrote:
Thu Dec 07, 2017 2:52 pm


So, if the Guide has a Wis 17 (+3 bonus) and has the Survival Proficience (+2) the right calculation for the embarkation roll should be: 2 + half(3) - peril rating + 1d12.

Is this correct? Also, do you round the wisdom bonus up or down?

That is indeed the correct formula and according to the way I understand the rules, you should round down.
D&D Player's handbook, page 7 wrote:
ROUND DOWN
There's one more general rule you need to know at the
outset. Whenever you divide a number in the game,
round down if you end up with a fraction, even if the
fraction is one-half or greater.
This is how I read it. BUT often times there are NPC who can give advice or guidance which can also add to the embarkament roll
Eaves of Mirkwood, page9 wrote: Sights about Woodmen-town
An old guide named {Spoiler} sits at the edge of the Market
Green on a carved log stool. As a veteran traveller,
who used to lead logging parties into the forest, she can
give the Company advice on planning their upcoming
journey. Guides who listen to her advice gain a +1 on their
Embarkation Roll (see page 12).
:ugeek:

User avatar
Anarfin
Posts: 65
Joined: Sun Sep 10, 2017 9:21 am

Re: Embarkation Roll

Post by Anarfin » Thu Dec 07, 2017 5:38 pm

Don Zauker wrote:
Thu Dec 07, 2017 2:52 pm
if I've read correctly the rule, the embarkation roll use the guide's survival proficiency bonus plus half the wisdom bonus.

So, if the Guide has a Wis 17 (+3 bonus) and has the Survival Proficience (+2) the right calculation for the embarkation roll should be: 2 + half(3) - peril rating + 1d12.

Is this correct? Also, do you round the wisdom bonus up or down?
Like Wanton wrote, that is correct.
Please note also, that features that doubles proficiency bonus for purpose of tests, do not count for calculating embarkation roll bonus (I.e. you're always counting actual, single proficiency bonus).

Not long ago, I had also some questions, concerning calculating Peril Rating and terrain majority:
https://forums.cubicle7.co.uk/viewtopic.php?f=60&t=9421
Good luck with your GMing (or rather LMing) :)

Don Zauker
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2017 2:37 pm

Re: Embarkation Roll

Post by Don Zauker » Thu Dec 07, 2017 9:49 pm

I wish to express both of you my gratitude and thanks!

:)

iuzbob
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2017 7:07 pm

Re: Embarkation Roll

Post by iuzbob » Fri Dec 08, 2017 11:32 am

The answers were for me very informative too. Many thanks.

mats77
Posts: 43
Joined: Sat Feb 21, 2015 9:25 am

Re: Embarkation Roll

Post by mats77 » Sun Jan 07, 2018 9:30 pm

Hi,

I am a bit confused about the "Guide's Survival proficiency bonus" (Player's Guide, page 166). What if the character isn't proficient in the Survival skill?

On the Loremaster's screen, it just says "the Guide's Proficiency Bonus", so they differ a bit in meaning.

What is correct?

User avatar
Wanton
Posts: 81
Joined: Thu Sep 28, 2017 8:06 pm

Re: Embarkation Roll

Post by Wanton » Sun Jan 07, 2018 9:49 pm

This skill check uses the Survival skill.... so if the player is not proficient in "Survival" their bonus is Zero (and most likely this player should NOT be the guide).

:ugeek:

mats77
Posts: 43
Joined: Sat Feb 21, 2015 9:25 am

Re: Embarkation Roll

Post by mats77 » Sun Jan 07, 2018 10:02 pm

Wanton wrote:
Sun Jan 07, 2018 9:49 pm
This skill check uses the Survival skill.... so if the player is not proficient in "Survival" their bonus is Zero (and most likely this player should NOT be the guide).

:ugeek:
Ah, of course! It's that simple! If no proficiency in Survival, then zero bonus...

Thanks! :)

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests