Looking for a "hack" for Yggdrasill

Yggdrasil – the Lands of the North is a game of exciting adventure in a detailed and fascinating setting. Become a hero in the Scandia of legend – intrigue, combat, quests, magic and mythic creatures await...! Learn more at our website: http://www.cubicle7.co.uk/our-games/yggdrasill/
Eirvit

Looking for a "hack" for Yggdrasill

Post by Eirvit » Wed Oct 19, 2016 7:18 pm

Hey, all. As of a few weeks now, I'm new to Yggdrasill and quite excited for it. I've run a session now and am scheduled for more, and I'm beginning to explore ways to manipulate the system and to create new content. Has anyone else looked into this? Or are there any game designers here who can give me their thoughts on or rationale for the game mechanics? I'm particularly interested in how Extras stats are figured. Also of interest are the formulations for penalties and benefits for Feats and Spells. My first session was an overall success, and so far I'm happy with the structure and pacing of the game. But a look under the hood at the actual parts of the engine, so to speak, would be a great help going forward. That said, thank you, all, for the comments and observations already put forward in this forum regarding particular aspects of game play!

Corone

Re: Looking for a "hack" for Yggdrasill

Post by Corone » Thu Oct 20, 2016 3:38 pm

I beleive there isn't a lot of hard maths behind the system.
The focus is usually on setting over rules,
so I think such things as Extra stats are developed by modifying a '2 in everyhting' base as seems apropriate.

For system hacks, I often find modifying difficulties can be a great way to shift from realistic to cinematic.
As it stands, the focus is on the realistic, but making the base TN lower,
or removing the level penalty for combat manouvres can quickly shift to cinematic.
Andrew Peregrine - Corone Design
Cubicle Seven Black Ops

Eirvit

Post by Eirvit » Thu Oct 20, 2016 6:44 pm

Thanks for the help!