Shi (4) and rerolls

The year is 2048, and something dark has returned to Japan. With an international blockade set up around the beleaguered country, there is no escape. Learn more at our website: http://www.cubicle7.co.uk/our-games/kuro/

Shi (4) and rerolls

Postby Nukenin » Mon Dec 12, 2016 6:35 pm

Concerning the "Expertise-gimikku": Does a rolled 4 apply for rerolls, as it is counted as 0?
User avatar
Nukenin
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Tue May 14, 2013 2:18 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Shi (4) and rerolls

Postby Corone » Tue Dec 13, 2016 6:38 pm

Hmmm. Good question.

Technically a Shi result is a 0 and therefore the lowest die.
But if you use them to also bring bad stuff into the game, expertise would allow you to avoid that in most cases.
Although, you are meant to be good at the skill so is that a problem?

So I'd offer two answers.
If it is just a 0 in your game, then it is certainly the lowest and can be rerolled.

But if the GM is using them to bring the attention of the spirits to the table,
I'd rule they can't be rerolled with just Expertise.

You might insist that only at a certain skill level can Expertise be used to reroll a Shi.

Really one for the individual GM and how you want to play the game I suppose.
Andrew Peregrine - Corone Design
Cubicle Seven Black Ops
User avatar
Corone
 
Posts: 378
Joined: Fri May 03, 2013 10:46 am
Location: London

Re: Shi (4) and rerolls

Postby Nukenin » Wed Dec 14, 2016 9:12 pm

Sounds fair, thanks Corone! :)
User avatar
Nukenin
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Tue May 14, 2013 2:18 pm
Location: Germany


Return to Kuro General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest